V-Day Fast Approaching: Take Cover!

I’ve been  happily/unhappily (depends on my mood at the time) single for a few years now.  I can’t count the last two major “relationships” as true dating experiences…let’s just say they were “complicated” to say the least.  Nevertheless, let’s get back to the issue at hand, for  the last three (more than that perhaps) I’ve been dateless on Valentine’s Day.  Most of my male friends don’t seem to understand the severity of this situation because, well, because they are guys.  Yeah, guys get lonely and everything…but I think for the most part the pure unadulterated sentimentality of the occasion completely escapes even the most savvy and sensitive  of my male friends.  In my experience, men think (erroneously) that just because V-Day is not a big deal to them, that it doesn’t matter.  Yes, people, I get it…it’s just a day.  But I am one of those types who is a genuine romantic…I like the big gestures (flowers, gifts, jewelry, sue me–my early loves spoiled me in that sense…high school boyfriend always brought roses when he came to take me out, college boyfriend loved buying cards, stuffed animals, going on trips together, and the steady “thought I was going to marry him” boyfriend that I had as an adult knew how to surprise a sister with jewelry, well written love notes and planning romantic nights out…so yeah, I admit it, my standards of what I call romantic gestures are kinda high.   But honestly, I repeat, honestly it is all about the sentiment all year long.  If you are kind and loving, then an extravagant V-Day isn’t necessary at all.  Ultimately, this day is simply about the outward, public display of how you should treat each other all the time.  Agree or disagree, I just think it’s cool to pick one day to go all out.  It’s V-day people…it’s supposed to be fun, carefree, romantic and loving.  And if you don’t have a V-Day partner, no worries, he or she is on the way.  In the interim, take yourself out on a date and have a ball.  You only live once–enjoy each moment to the fullest!

Fortunately, I am not one of those bitter types.  For the first time in a VERY long time, I am truly enjoying the dating game.  I like the current prospects at the moment (all super cute, driven, smart, confident, etc. etc.) so I am enjoying the pursuit.  So in observance of the day, I’m going to enjoy two of my guilty pleasures–reading trashy romance novels and watching cheesy romantic comedies from the 80’s and 90’s…I will be just fine:-).

If you do plan on making the day special for someone, check out T-Strong’s suggestions for a fun V-Day:

T. Strong Spices Up Valentine\’s Day on Fox Charlotte